Vue d’ensemble de Flaine

Flaine est une station de ski familiale construite au fond d’un grand cirque glaciaire à la fin des années 1960.

Il dispose d’un centre de village sans voiture avec une grande sculpture de Picasso et d’autres œuvres d’art.

Bien que ses bâtiments modernes en béton ne soient pas aussi charmants que les stations plus traditionnelles, il a des paysages magnifiques et un excellent ski.

La saison de ski commence à…

 
 

Info & Stats

Saison

12 décembre 2020 – 17 avril 2021

Domaine skiable

La station de ski de Flaine fait partie du domaine skiable du Grand Massif, qui s’élève de 1 600 à 2 500 mètres.

Flaine elle-même s’étend sur 140 kilomètres, avec 8 pistes vertes, 26 bleues, 25 rouges et 5 noires.

Le sentier le plus long est le sentier de 14 kilomètres de long Les Cascades.

Il possède également le plus grand parc de terrain du Grand Massif.

Domaine skiable relié


Grand Massif (5 stations):
Flaine, Les Carroz, Morillon, Samoens, Sixt Fer à Cheval

  • 265 km de pistes
  • 148 points (20 verts, 64 bleus, 50 rouges, 14 noirs)

  • 71 remontées mécaniques

Activités et expériences non ski

Les activités comprennent la plongée sur glace, le parapente, la motoneige, le quad-vélo sur glace et la conduite en buggy, le kiting de neige et les vols en hélicoptère panoramique.

Il dispose également d’un cinéma, d’un centre aquatique, d’un centre d’art, d’un bowling et d’une patinoire.

Location & Trail Map

Transfer time to Flaine from:

  • Geneva airport: 1hr15min*
  • Cluses train station (closest): 45min*

Resort altitude: 1,600m

*Transfer time is approximate, by private transfer vehicle and subject to weather and road conditions. Shared shuttle/bus transfers have set departure times, take much longer to travel and don’t offer door to door service which is why we recommend private transfers only.

Grand Massif trail map

Grand Massif Trail Map 2019 1
Grand Massif trail map

Watch Video

Flaine Ski Resort Vidéo

La station de ski-in familiale de Flaine est située dans le magnifique domaine skiable du Grand Massif avec 80% de ses pistes orientées vers le nord. Cela signifie des conditions de neige fiables et excellentes toute la saison. Avec une vue imprenable sur le Mont-Blanc, de longues pistes de croisière, de bonnes conditions de neige et un accès ski-out, Flaine est l’une des meilleures stations de ski familiales en France.
Regardez cette vidéo pour en savoir plus…

Regarder la vidéo maintenant

Photo Gallery

Qu’est-ce qui rend la station de ski flaine unique?
  • Flaine est la plus grande des 5 stations de ski du domaine skiable du Grand Massif, le4ème plus grand domaine skiable interconnecté de France.
  • Grâce à un microclimat causé par sa position au bord du massif du Mont Blanc et avec 80% de pistes orientées vers le nord, Flaine tient très bien sa neige toute la saison. La majorité des pistes sont au-dessus de la ligne d’arbres dans un bol ouvert naturel et offrent une vue imprenable sur le Mont-Blanc. Il ya aussi un grand ski d’arbre reliant jusqu’aux stations de ski ci-dessous comme Les Carroz et Morillon.
  • Le Hameau de Flaine (1 800 m) est unique dans les Alpes Français offrant des chalets en bois scandinaves colorés dans un petit hameau au-dessus du Forum de Flaine (1 600 m), le centre du village d’origine. Juste en dessous du côté du Hameau de Flaine se trouve Flaine Montsoleil. Vous y trouverez nos complexes d’appartements de luxe, Les Terrasses d’Hélios et Les Terrasses d’Eos qui offrent un accès ski-in ski-out et ont tout ce dont vous avez besoin sur place, y compris des magasins de location de ski, un supermarché et un point de rencontre de l’école de ski.
  • Les Cascades de 14 km de Flaine à Sixt-Fer-à-Cheval (où un navette gratuit vous emmène au Grand Massif Express à Samoëns) est la3ème plus longue piste de ski en France et dans le Top 10 en Europe. Sur cette belle piste de ski, il n’est pas rare de voir des animaux sauvages comme le bouquetin, le chamois et les lièvres de montagne.
  • Flaine est la seule station de ski construite dans les années 1960 à figurer dans le Français’Enquête sur les monuments historiques. La station a reçu le label Patrimoine architectural du XXe siècle par le ministère de la Culture en 2008. Designer bauhaus, Marcel Breuer a créé le Palais de l’Unesco à Paris, le Whitney Museum à New-York, puis Flaine.
  • Flaine est sur le Top 10 des stations de ski enneigées en France. Le bol principal de Flaine a un dossier de neige exceptionnel. Non seulement la région a des chutes de neige moyennes élevées, mais la préservation de la neige est également excellente, avec une bonne couverture jusqu’au niveau de la station pratiquement assuré bien en avril.
Qui aimerait le plus la station de ski flaine?
  • Flaine convient à tous les niveaux de ski : les débutants adoreront Flaine, il y a 2 pépinières et 4 remontées mécaniques gratuites : 3 tapis magiques couverts – Le Pré, Le Michalet et Le Bissac, ainsi que l’ascenseur télébenne. En outre, il ya 3 zones dédiées pour débutants. Apprenez à votre propre rythme sur les zones de sécurité Pré et Bissac, puis passez à une série de pistes vertes à l’aide du ski ballacha remorque, qui est parfait avec le skipass débutant. Les skieurs avancés trouveront un grand bol avec quelques pistes noires sérieusement raides et un excellent ski hors-piste. Les intermédiaires ont une grande variété de pistes, du bleu facile aux rouges raides (la majorité des pentes ici sont bleues et rouges).
  • Flaine a été créé en 1969, lorsque de grands blocs de béton d’appartements ont été considérés comme élégants, même dans les montagnes. Ces blocs originaux conçus dans les années 1960 forment encore le cœur du village de la station et ont le grand avantage de la commodité principalement ski-in/ski-out. Aimer l’architecture est une question de goût – beaucoup la trouvent laide, mais certains admirent son héritage bauhaus et les sculptures extérieures de Picasso, Vasarely et Dubuffet.
  • Flaine propose quelques-uns des appartements de luxe les moins chers dans les Alpes Français
  • Les appartements sont ski-in ski-out et les chalets en bois à Le Hameau de Flaine sont juste une courte promenade et de l’autre côté de la route pour commencer à glisser à travers la forêt à une piste si les conditions de neige le permettent. Sinon, vous pouvez prendre la navette gratuite de la station pour le centre du village qui est à 2 km.
  • Flaine est une grande station de ski familiale ou pour les amis et les groupes intéressés par le ski toute la journée, mais ne pas faire la fête toute la nuit. Il n’y a pas beaucoup de vie nocturne et la soirée manque de vivacité et de bars.
  • Le fait que beaucoup de gens n’aiment pas l’architecture moderniste de Flaine signifie que les prix sont restés relativement bas pour la France. Ajoutez le microclimat enneigé de Flaine dans le mélange et vous pouvez voir pourquoi certaines personnes reviennent ici année après année.
Que faut-il faire pour les non-skieurs de Flaine?

Flaine a de grandes activités hivernales. Si vous y êtes pour une semaine ou 2, il ya beaucoup d’options telles que la luge de chien, la motoneige, la conduite sur glace, quad sur glace, parapente, promenades en hélicoptère panoramique (et 20min héli transfert de l’aéroport de Genève), toboggan, raquettes même snowkite!

Vous trouverez une patinoire extérieure à Flaine Forum et un beau spa avec des soins, des massages, une piscine, un sauna, un hammam et un bain à remous dans notre espace spa de complexes d’appartements de luxe.

Comment arriver à Flaine ?

Flaine est à 1 heure 15min en voiture privée de l’aéroport de Genève
Il se trouve à 45 minutes en voiture de la gare de Cluses, la gare la plus proche de France, à Flaine.

Top Snow Travel peut également organiser des transferts en hélicoptère ou en vol panoramique à partir de tous les aéroports ou autres altiports station de ski dans la région

Combien de temps dure la saison de ski de Flaine?

L’hiver prochain, la station de ski deth Flaine devrait ouvrir ses portes du 12 décembre 2020 au 18th avril 2021.

Quelles autres stations de ski font partie du domaine skiable du Grand Massif?

Il y a 5 stations de ski incluses sur les 265 km de col du Grand Massif : Flaine, Les Carroz, Morillon, Samoens et Sixt Fer à Cheval.

Quel est le meilleur moment pour aller skier à Flaine?

Du 2 janvier au 6 février 2021 est le meilleur et le meilleur moment pour y aller (basse saison), suivi du 6mars jusqu’à la mi-avril 2021 (la saison de l’épaule).

Pour les Australiens voyageant en France pour skier pendant nos vacances d’été de janvier, nous bénéficions des tarifs moins chers proposés dans la basse saison des stations de ski Français. C’est le cas lorsque les Français et les Européens retournent au travail et à l’école après les vacances de Noël et du Nouvel An de 2 semaines.

Les Européens et les Britanniques affluent vers les stations jusqu’en février jusqu’en mars (NE VOYAGEZ PAS du 6février au6 mars 2021 car il s’agit de la Français vacances scolaires). Les pistes sont extrêmement fréquentées, les files d’attente aux remontées mécaniques sont longues et le prix de l’hébergement est très cher pendant ce temps. Même tous les restaurants sont réservés!

Typiquement, en Janvier, la neige est sèche avec la plus grande accumulation. C’est aussi le temps le plus froid, donc vous devrez vous assurer que vous vous habillez chaudement. Il est toujours sage de choisir une station de haute altitude au cas où mère nature n’a pas été aimable plus tôt dans la saison. Gardez à l’esprit cependant, que la fabrication de neige est utilisée pour compléter les chutes de neige naturelles dans les zones à fort trafic.

Ainsi, non seulement Janvier est le moment le moins cher pour aller skier dans les Alpes Français, c’est aussi le meilleur moment pour y aller grâce aux conditions météorologiques, le manque de files d’attente, plus de disponibilité et de choix d’hébergement et vous obtenez de respirer l’air frais avec vos proches, plutôt qu’avec des milliers d’autres personnes!

Flaine Hébergement

Les Terrasses d’Helios
Flaine

Appartements de 1 à 3 chambres. Les Terrasses d’Hélios est la nouvelle résidence Premium. Cette résidence de luxe offre une vue imprenable sur les montagnes du Grand Massif et un confort exceptionnel dans une atmosphère chaleureuse et authentique. Un télésiège vous permet d’accéder directement à l’ensemble du domaine skiable du Grand Massif, vous permettant de partir pour les pistes de

Les Terrasses d’Eos
Flaine

Appartements de 1 à 3 chambres. Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Terrasses d’Eos. Cette résidence de ski 5 étoiles dispose de deux grands bâtiments en pierre et recouverts de bois. Le style contemporain se combine à l’architecture traditionnelle, se mélangeant parfaitement au paysage. Leur position élevée vous offre une vue exclusive sur la vallée et les montagnes couvertes d’épinettes.

Du blog

Flaine Overview

Flaine is a family-friendly ski resort built at the bottom of a large glacial cirque in the late 1960s.

It has a car-free village centre featuring a large sculpture by Picasso and other artworks.

While its modern concrete buildings aren’t as charming as more traditional resorts, it has magnificent scenery and excellent skiing.

Ski season starts in…

 
 

Info & Stats

Season

December 12, 2020 – April 17, 2021

Ski area

Flaine ski resort is part of the 265-kilometre Grand Massif ski area, which rises in altitude from 1,600 to 2,500 metres.

Flaine itself stretches across 140 kilometres, with 8 green runs, 26 blue, 25 red and 5 black.

The longest trail is the 14 kilometre-long Les Cascades.

It also has the largest terrain park in the Grand Massif.

Linked ski area

Grand Massif (5 resorts): Flaine, Les Carroz, Morillon, Samoens, Sixt Fer à Cheval

  • 265 km of runs
  • 148 runs (20 greens, 64  blues, 50 reds, 14 blacks)

  • 71 lifts

Non-ski activities and experiences

Activities include ice diving, paragliding, snowmobiling, ice quad-biking and buggy driving, snow-kiting and scenic helicopter flights.

It also has a cinema, aquatic centre, art centre, bowling alley and an ice-skating rink.

Location & Trail Map

Transfer time to Flaine from:

  • Geneva airport: 1hr15min*
  • Cluses train station (closest): 45min*

Resort altitude: 1,600m

*Transfer time is approximate, by private transfer vehicle and subject to weather and road conditions. Shared shuttle/bus transfers have set departure times, take much longer to travel and don’t offer door to door service which is why we recommend private transfers only.

Grand Massif trail map

Grand Massif Trail Map 2019 1
Grand Massif trail map

Watch Video

Flaine Ski Resort Video

The family friendly ski-in ski-out resort of Flaine is located in the beautiful Grand Massif ski area with 80% of its slopes facing north. This means reliable and great snow conditions all season. With stunning views of the Mont-Blanc, long cruising runs, great snow conditions and ski-in ski-out access, Flaine is one of the best family ski resorts in France.
Watch this video to find out more…

Watch Video Now

Photo Gallery

What makes Flaine ski resort unique?
  • Flaine is the largest of the 5 ski resorts in the Grand Massif ski area, the 4th largest interlinked ski domain in France.
  • Thanks to a microclimate caused by its position at the edge of the Mont Blanc massif and with 80% of slopes north facing, Flaine holds its snow very well all season. The majority of the slopes are above the tree-line in a natural open bowl and offer stunning views of Mont-Blanc. There is also great tree skiing linking up to the ski resorts below like Les Carroz and Morillon.
  • Le Hameau de Flaine (1,800m) is unique in the French Alps offering colourful Scandinavian wooden chalets in a little hamlet above Flaine Forum (1,600m), the original village centre. Just below on the side of Le Hameau de Flaine is Flaine Montsoleil. Here you will find our luxury apartment complexes, Les Terrasses d’Hélios and Les Terrasses d’Eos which provide ski-in ski-out access and have everything you need on site, including ski hire shops, a supermarket and a ski school meeting point.
  • Les Cascades’ 14km run from Flaine to Sixt-Fer-à-Cheval (where a free shuttlebus takes you to the Grand Massif Express in Samoëns) is the 3rd longest ski run in France and in the Top 10 in Europe. On this beautiful ski run, it is not uncommon to see wildlife such as ibex, chamois and mountain hares.
  • Flaine is the only ski resort built in the 1960s to be listed in the French Historical Monuments Survey. The resort was awarded the Architectural Heritage of the 20th century label by the Ministry of Culture in 2008. Bauhaus designer, Marcel Breuer created the Palais de l’Unesco in Paris, the Whitney Museum in New-York, and then Flaine.
  • Flaine is on of the Top 10 snow-sure ski resorts in France. The main Flaine bowl has an outstanding snow record. Not only does the area have high average snowfall, but snow preservation is also excellent, with good cover down to resort level virtually assured well into April.
Who would love Flaine ski resort the most?
  • Flaine suits all ski levels: Beginners will love Flaine, there are 2 nursery areas and 4 free ski lifts: 3 covered magic carpets – Le Pré, Le Michalet and Le Bissac, as well as the Télébenne gondola lift. Additionally, there are 3 dedicated beginner’s areas. Learn at your own pace on the Pré and Bissac safe zones, then move on to a series of green runs using the Ballacha ski tow, which is perfect with the beginner skipass. Advanced skiers will find a wide bowl with some seriously steep black runs and excellent off-piste skiing. Intermediates have a huge variety of slopes, from easy blues to steep reds (the majority of slopes here are blue and red).
  • Flaine was created in 1969, when big concrete blocks of apartments were considered stylish, even in the mountains. These original blocks designed in the 1960s still form the core of the resort village and have the big advantage of mainly ski-in/ski-out convenience. Liking the architecture is a matter of taste – many find it ugly, but some admire its Bauhaus heritage and the outdoor sculptures by Picasso, Vasarely and Dubuffet.
  • Flaine offers some of the cheapest luxury self-catered apartments in the French Alps
  • Apartments are ski-in ski-out and the wooden chalets in Le Hameau de Flaine are just a short walk and across the road to start sliding through the forest to a piste if snow conditions allow. Otherwise, you can catch the free resort shuttle bus to the village centre which is 2km away.
  • Flaine is a great family ski resort or for friends and groups interested in skiing all day but not partying all night. There is not much nightlife and the evening lacks liveliness and bars.
  • The fact that a lot of people don’t like Flaine’s Modernist architecture means that prices have stayed relatively low for France. Add Flaine’s snowy micro-climate into the mix and you can see why some people come back here year after year.
What is there to do for non-skiers in Flaine?

Flaine has some great winter activities. If you’re there for a week or 2, there are plenty of options such as dog sledding, snowmobiling, ice driving, ice quad biking, paragliding, helicopter scenic rides (and 20min heli transfer from Geneva airport), tobogganing, snowshoeing even snowkite!

You will find an outdoor ice-skating rink in Flaine Forum and a beautiful spa with treatments, massages, swimming pool, sauna, hammam and hot tub in our luxury apartment complexes spa area.

 

How do we get to Flaine?

Flaine is a 1-hour 15min drive by private transfer from Geneva airport
It’s a 45 min drive from Cluses train station, the closest train station in France to Flaine.

Top Snow Travel can also arrange helicopter or scenic flight transfers from all airports or other ski resort altiports in the region

How long does Flaine ski season last?

Next winter, Flaine ski resort is scheduled to open from December 12th 2020 to April 18th 2021.

Which other ski resorts are part of the Grand Massif ski area?

There are 5 ski resorts included on the Grand Massif’s 265km of run lift pass: Flaine, Les Carroz, Morillon, Samoens and Sixt Fer à Cheval.

When is the best time to go skiing in Flaine?

January 2nd to Feb 6th 2021 is the cheapest and best time to go (low season), followed by 6th March until mid-April 2021 (the shoulder season).

For Australians travelling to France to ski during our January summer holidays, we benefit from the cheaper rates on offer in the French ski resorts’ low season.  This happens to be when the French and Europeans go back to work and school after the 2 week Christmas and New Year holiday period.

Europeans and the Brits flock to the resorts through February into March (DO NOT TRAVEL from 6th Feb to 6th Mar 2021 as this is the French school holidays). The slopes are extremely busy, the queues at the lifts are long and the price for accommodation is very expensive during that time.  Even all the restaurants are booked out!

Typically, in January, the snow is dry with the largest build up. It is also the coldest time, so you will need to make sure that you dress warmly. It is still wise to choose a high-altitude resort in case mother nature has not been kind earlier in the season. Bear in mind though, that snow-making is used to supplement natural snowfall in high traffic areas.

So, not only is January the cheapest time to go skiing in the French Alps, it is also the best time to go thanks to the weather conditions, the lack of queues, more availability and choice of accommodation and you get to breathe fresh air with your loved ones, rather than with thousands of other people!

Flaine Accommodation

Manali Lodge – Signature Suite Kinabalu
|Courchevel

5 Bedroom apartment - sleeps 10. The Kinabalu Signature suite, located on the 6th floor of the Manali Lodge Residence in Courchevel Moriond, with a surface area of 277 sqm, is perfect to welcome up to 10 people.This suite has three bedrooms with a double bed, a master bedroom with a private balcony with a hot tub, a bedroom cabin

Les Terrasses d’Helios
|Flaine

1 to 3 Bedroom apartments. Les Terrasses d’Hélios is the newest Premium residence. This luxury residence offers incredible views of the Grand Massif mountains and outstanding comfort in a warm, authentic atmosphere. A chairlift gives guests direct access to the whole of the Grand Massif ski area, allowing you to set off for the pistes in your skis.

Les Terrasses d’Eos
|Flaine

1 to 3 Bedroom apartments. Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Terrasses d’Eos. This 5-star ski-in, ski-out residence has two large stone and wood-clad buildings. Contemporary style combines with traditional architecture, blending perfectly into the landscape. Their elevated position gives you exclusive views over the valley and the spruce-covered mountains.

From The Blog