Vue d’ensemble du Grand Bornand

Le Grand Bornand est une station familiale située dans les montagnes derrière le lac d’Annecy, entre le Mont Blanc et Lyon.

C’est le principal canton agricole de la région et abrite un village traditionnel savoyard parsemé de chalets en bois, dont le plus ancien a été construit en 1664.

La saison de ski commence à…

 
 

Info & Stats

Saison

19 décembre 2020 – 18 avril 2021 (selon les conditions)

Domaine skiable

Le Grand Bornand dispose de 29 remontées mécaniques qui accèdent à 46 sentiers, dont 16 verts, 13 bleus, 14 rouges et 3 noirs.

Il possède également l’un des meilleurs parcs de terrain de France.

Domaine skiable relié


Les Aravis (4 stations):
La Clusaz, Le Grand Bornand, Manigod, St Jean de Sixt.
Le domaine skiable de La Clusaz-Manigod et Le Grand Bornand est relié par des navettes.

  • 220 km de pistes
  • 86 points: 7 noirs, 30 rouges, 32 bleus, 17 verts
  • 2 snowparks
  • 50 remontées mécaniques

Activités et expériences non ski

Le Grand Bornand dispose d’une patinoire et d’un cinéma couverts, ainsi que de possibilités de parapente, d’alpinisme, de vélo de ski, de gros vélo et de luge.

Après-ski

Bien qu’il ne soit pas connu pour son après-scène, il ya beaucoup de bars pour une boisson tranquille ainsi que des restaurants authentiques avec cheminées et terrasses extérieures.

Location & Trail Map

Transfer time to Le Grand Bornand from:

  • Annecy airport: 45min*
  • Annecy train station: 50min*
  • Geneva airport: 1hr 10min*

Resort altitude: 1,300m

*Transfer time is approximate, by private transfer vehicle and subject to weather and road conditions. Shared shuttle/bus transfers have set departure times, take much longer to travel and don’t offer door to door service which is why we recommend private transfers only.

Le Grand Bornand Aravis Trail Map
Aravis trail map

Watch Video

Le Grand Bornand Vidéo

Vous cherchez un village de montagne traditionnel Français?
La vieille ville agricole du Grand Bornand avec des chalets centenaires parsemés de la montagne est un véritable joyau dans les Alpes Français.Regardez cette vidéo pour en savoir plus…

Regarder la vidéo maintenant

Photo Gallery

Qu’est-ce qui rend la station de ski Le Grand Bornand unique ?
  • Le Grand Bornand est l’un des rares charmants villages agricoles traditionnels des Alpes Français qui offre un ski de classe mondiale et une vue imprenable sur la chaîne de montagnes aravis. Les résidents vivent et travaillent ici toute l’année, c’est donc un authentique village agricole alpin Français.
  • Il y a encore près de 40 fermes en activité, dont beaucoup dans les pâturages du Col des Annes produisant le fameux fromage Reblochon à l’aide d’un procédé qui remonte au XIIIe siècle’ Le Grand-Bornand est également célèbre pour sa tradition gastronomique avec des plats locaux comme le péla, la « vraie » tartiflette.
  • Découvrez un authentique marché traditionnel Français qui se tient tous les mercredis matins depuis 1795 sur la place du village à côté de l’église.
  • Il ya plus de 400 chalets dispersés autour de la montagne et dans la vallée, avec des familles locales en gardant l’ancien style traditionnel pendant plusieurs centaines d’années et le plus ancien abrite toujours la même famille depuis 1664.
  • Le Grand Bornand se trouve à seulement 45 min en voiture du magnifique lac et de la vieille ville d’Annecy et à seulement 1h en voiture de l’aéroport de Genève. Cela en fait un endroit idéal pour un accès rapide et facile.
  • Le Grand Bornand possède l’un des 5 meilleurs snowparks de France qui a quelque chose pour tout le monde : petits et grands, jeunes et moins jeunes, débutants à professionnels expérimentés.
Qui aimerait le plus la station de ski Le Grand Bornand ?
  • Les gens à la recherche d’une expérience de village authentique Français avec de beaux chalets anciens répartis sur la montagne dans un pays des merveilles traditionnels d’hiver
  • Les gens à la recherche d’un domaine skiable de classe mondiale tout en n’ayant pas à dépenser les gros dollars. Le Grand Bornand propose des forfaits de ski vraiment bon marché. Il n’y a pas d’hôtels 5 étoiles à Chinaillon (la station de ski) mais vous avez un hébergement de qualité incroyable et de grandes options d’appartement 4 étoiles auto-pris en charge.
  • Les gens qui cherchent à se rendre aux stations de ski rapidement en arrivant à l’aéroport de Genève en provenance d’Australie. Il est seulement 1h en voiture et l’une des stations de ski les plus rapides à accéder
  • Familles – Le Grand Bornand a des conditions de neige étonnantes tout en n’étant pas trop élevé en altitude (1300m pour Le Grand Bornand Chinaillon). La basse altitude signifie qu’il fait moins froid et que vous avez plus d’oxygène que dans les stations de ski de haute altitude. Les pâturages enneigés nécessitent également beaucoup moins de couverture neigeuse pour skier par rapport à de nombreuses stations avec des pentes rocheuses qui nécessitent une bonne base de neige.
  • Amateurs de ski de fond (ski nordique) avec plus de 68 km de sentiers entourés de belles forêts et de la chaîne de montagnes Aravis. Le Grand-Bornand possède un domaine skiable nordique riche en installations de pointe, comme le stade international de biathlon olympique Sylvie Becaert. Il porte le nom du double champion du monde et médaillé olympique du Grand Bornand. Le stade accueille la manche de la Coupe du monde de biathlon Annecy-Le Grand-Bornand Français. Pourquoi ne pas essayer votre main à la cible de tir à partir de 10m ou 50m et suivre les traces des plus grands champions de l’équipe Français.
Que faire pour les non-skieurs du Grand Bornand ?

Une fois que vous avez posé vos skis/snowboard ou si vous ne skiez pas du tout pendant votre séjour au Grand Bornand, il y a beaucoup d’activités hivernales à profiter comme de belles promenades en raquettes : sortez des sentiers battus et remontez dans le monde le long des 81 km de pistes de raquettes et 18 km de sentiers de randonnée balisés; faire un aller au biathlon, ski nordique, ski, fat bike, speed riding, parapente, luge (y compris paret /yooner), promenades en traîneau à cheval, ski joering, excursions touristiques segway; ou que diriez-vous de l’escalade de glace sur les ruisseaux gelés et les cascades courtes; ou l’expérience de quelque chose de magique – montgolfière!

Il y a aussi une patinoire couverte de 800 m². Nos 2 propriétés préférées dans Le Grand Bornand Chinaillon, à proximité des pistes sont Le Village de Lessy et Le Roc des Tours. Les deux ont d’excellentes installations de spa et de bien-être.

N’oubliez pas de visiter le marché une fois par semaine tous les mercredis matin (8h – 12h30) dans le centre du village du Grand Bornand par la place et l’ancienne église, un must do. Pendant que vous y êtes, consultez les anciennes boutiques d’artisans locaux qui fonctionnent encore comme ils l’étaient il y a des centaines d’années. Visitez les ateliers du sellier, Didier Perrillat (l’Atelier du Bourrelier), et des potiers, Edith et Patrick Martin, chaque artisan travaillant dans la tanière des bâtiments anciens au coin du feu, en utilisant un savoir-faire ancestral.

Mangez dans l’un des nombreux restaurants et bars traditionnels de la montagne, dans le village de Le Chinaillon et Le Grand Bornand.

Comment arriver au Grand Bornand ?

Le Grand Bornand est à 1 heure 10min en voiture privée de l’aéroport de Genève
C’est à 50 minutes en voiture de la gare d’Annecy, la gare la plus proche de France jusqu’au Grand Bornand.

Un transfert de navette partagé de Genève prendra plus de 4 heures et ne vous déposera à l’arrêt de bus du village, pas à votre hébergement – pas idéal si vous voyagez avec du matériel de ski et des bagages et ne savez pas votre chemin.

Combien de temps dure la saison de ski du Grand Bornand?

L’hiver prochain, la station de ski Le Grandth Bornand ouvrira ses portes du 19 décembre 2020 au 18th avril 2021.

Quelles autres stations de ski font partie du domaine skiable d’Aravis?

Il y a 4 stations de ski incluses sur le col de l’Aravis : La Clusaz, Le Grand Bornand, Manigod, St Jean de Sixt. Le domaine skiable de La Clusaz-Manigod et Le Grand Bornand sont reliés par des navettes (zones de ski non reliées par des remontées mécaniques).

Quel est le meilleur moment pour aller skier au Grand Bornand?

Du 2 janvier au 6 février 2021 est le meilleur et le meilleur moment pour y aller (basse saison), suivi du 6mars jusqu’à la mi-avril 2021 (la saison de l’épaule).

Pour les Australiens voyageant en France pour skier pendant nos vacances d’été de janvier, nous bénéficions des tarifs moins chers proposés dans la basse saison des stations de ski Français. C’est le cas lorsque les Français et les Européens retournent au travail et à l’école après les vacances de Noël et du Nouvel An de 2 semaines.

Les Européens et les Britanniques affluent vers les stations jusqu’en février jusqu’en mars (NE VOYAGEZ PAS du 6février au6 mars 2021 car il s’agit de la Français vacances scolaires). Les pistes sont extrêmement fréquentées, les files d’attente aux remontées mécaniques sont longues et le prix de l’hébergement est très cher pendant ce temps. Même tous les restaurants sont réservés!

Typiquement, en Janvier, la neige est sèche avec la plus grande accumulation. C’est aussi le temps le plus froid, donc vous devrez vous assurer que vous vous habillez chaudement. Il est toujours sage de choisir une station de haute altitude au cas où mère nature n’a pas été aimable plus tôt dans la saison. Gardez à l’esprit cependant, que la fabrication de neige est utilisée pour compléter les chutes de neige naturelles dans les zones à fort trafic.

Ainsi, non seulement Janvier est le moment le moins cher pour aller skier dans les Alpes Français, c’est aussi le meilleur moment pour y aller grâce aux conditions météorologiques, le manque de files d’attente, plus de disponibilité et de choix d’hébergement et vous obtenez de respirer l’air frais avec vos proches, plutôt qu’avec des milliers d’autres personnes!

Hébergement Le Grand Bornand

À 1 000 mètres d’altitude, le Village du Grand Bornand est un village agricole alpin typique avec un marché extérieur, une place centrale et une église. Un peu plus loin sur la route, à 1 300 mètres d’altitude, vous trouverez le village historique bien conservé Le Grand Bornand Chinaillon, qui est le principal domaine skiable.

Le Roc des Tours
Le Grand Bornand

Appartements de 1 à 3 chambres. Le Roc des Tours. Avec un emplacement unique à côté des pistes, «Le Roc des Tours» privilégie l’atmosphère intime avec ses 39 appartements avec confort et authenticité qui peuvent accueillir de 2 à 8 personnes. Pour un séjour idyllique mêlant ski et détente, nous vous recommandons notre piscine intérieure chauffée, notre centre de bien-être

Résidence Le Village de Lessy
Le Grand Bornand

Appartements de 1 à 3 chambres. Résidence CGH & Spa Le Village de Lessy. Au cœur du Grand-Bornand Chinaillon, la résidence Le Village Lessy vous accueille pour vos prochaines vacances d’hiver. Profitez d’appartements spacieux et entièrement équipés et de son centre de bien-être. Il se compose de 128 appartements dans 9 chalets, réception accueillante, piscine avec une vue à couper

Du blog

Le Grand Bornand Overview

Le Grand Bornand is a family-friendly resort situated in the mountains behind Lake Annecy, between Mont Blanc and Lyon.

It is the leading farming township of the region and home to a traditional Savoyard village dotted with wooden chalets, the oldest of which was built in 1664.

Le Grand Bornand ski season starts in…

 
 

Info & Stats

Season

December 18, 2021 – April 16, 2022 (depending on conditions)

Ski area

Le Grand Bornand has 29 lifts that access 46 trails, including 16 green, 13 blue, 14 red and 3 black.

It also has one of the best terrain parks in France.

Linked ski area

Les Aravis (4 resorts): La Clusaz, Le Grand Bornand, Manigod, St Jean de Sixt.
La Clusaz-Manigod and Le Grand Bornand ski area are connected by shuttle buses.

  • 220 km of runs
  • 86 runs: 7 blacks, 30 reds, 32 blues, 17 greens
  • 2 snowparks
  • 50 lifts

Non-ski activities and experiences

Le Grand Bornand has a covered ice-skating rink and cinema, as well as opportunities for paragliding, mountaineering, ski biking, fat biking and sledging.

Après-ski

While it’s not known for its après scene, there are plenty of bars for a quiet drink as well as authentic restaurants with fireplaces and outdoor terraces.

Location & Trail Map

Transfer time to Le Grand Bornand from:

  • Annecy airport: 45min*
  • Annecy train station: 50min*
  • Geneva airport: 1hr 10min*

Resort altitude: 1,300m

*Transfer time is approximate, by private transfer vehicle and subject to weather and road conditions. Shared shuttle/bus transfers have set departure times, take much longer to travel and don’t offer door to door service which is why we recommend private transfers only.

Le Grand Bornand Aravis Trail Map
Aravis trail map

Watch Video

Le Grand Bornand Video

Looking for a traditional French mountain village?
Le Grand Bornand’s old farming town with century old chalets dotted across the mountain is a real gem in the French Alps. Watch this video to find out more…

Watch Video Now

Photo Gallery

What makes Le Grand Bornand ski resort unique?
  • Le Grand Bornand is one of only a few charming traditional farming villages in the French Alps which provides world class skiing and stunning views of the Aravis mountain range. The residents live and work here all year round so it is an authentic French alpine farming village.
  • There are nearly 40 farms still in operation, many in the pastures of the Col des Annes producing the famous Reblochon cheese using a process that dates back to the 13th century’ Le Grand-Bornand is also famous for its gastronomic tradition with local dishes such as the péla, the “true” tartiflette.
  • Discover an authentic French traditional market held every Wednesday morning since 1795 in the village square next to the church.
  • There are over 400 chalets scattered around the mountain and in the valley, with local families keeping the old traditional style for several hundred years and the oldest still housing the same family since 1664.
  • Le Grand Bornand is just a 45min drive to the beautiful lake and old town of Annecy and only 1hr drive from Geneva airport. This makes it an ideal location for fast and easy access.
  • Le Grand Bornand has one of the top 5 best snowparks in France which has something for everyone: small and big, young and old, beginner to experienced professional.
Who would love Le Grand Bornand ski resort the most?
  • People looking for a charming authentic French village experience with beautiful old chalets spread over the mountain in a traditional winter wonderland
  • People looking for a world class ski area while not having to spend the big bucks. Le Grand Bornand has really cheap ski packages on offer. There are no 5-star hotels there in Chinaillon (the ski resort) but you do have amazing quality accommodation and great 4 star self-catered apartment options.
  • People looking to get to the ski resorts quickly when arriving into Geneva airport from Australia. It is only 1hr drive and one of the quickest ski resorts to access
  • Families – Le Grand Bornand has amazing snow conditions while also not being too high in altitude (1,300m for Le Grand Bornand Chinaillon). The lower altitude means it is less cold and you have more oxygen than in the high altitude ski resorts. The snow covered pastures also require much less snow cover to ski on compared to many resorts with rocky slopes which require a good snow base.
  • Cross country skiing (Nordic skiing) enthusiasts with over 68km of trails surrounded by beautiful forests and the Aravis mountain range. Le Grand-Bornand has a Nordic skiing area that is rich in cutting-edge facilities, such as the Sylvie Becaert international Olympic biathlon stadium. It is named after the double world champion and Olympic medal-holder from Le Grand Bornand. The stadium is the venue for the Annecy-Le Grand-Bornand French round of the Biathlon world cup. Why not try your hand at target-shooting from 10m or 50m away and follow in the footsteps of the greatest champions of the French team.
What is there to do for non-skiers in Le Grand Bornand?

Once you have put down your skis/snowboard or if you’re not skiing at all during your stay in Le Grand Bornand, there are plenty of winter activities to enjoy such as beautiful snowshoe walks: get off the beaten track and go up in the world along the 81 km of snowshoe trails and 18 km of marked-out hiking trails; have a go at biathlon, Nordic skiing, skibike, Fat Bike, speed riding, paragliding, sledging (including paret/yooner), horse sleigh rides, ski joering, segway sightseeing tours; or how about ice climbing on frozen streams and short waterfalls; or experience something magical – hot air ballooning!

There is also an 800 m² covered ice-skating rink. Our 2 preferred properties in Le Grand Bornand Chinaillon, close to the slopes are Le Village de Lessy and Le Roc des Tours . Both have great Spa and Wellness facilities.

Be sure to visit the once weekly market every Wednesday morning (8am – 12:30pm) in Le Grand Bornand village centre by the square and old church, a must do. While you are there, check out the old boutique shops of local craftsmen still operating as they were hundreds of years ago. Visit the workshops of the saddler, Didier Perrillat (l’Atelier du Bourrelier), and potters, Edith and Patrick Martin, each artisan working in the den of ancient buildings by the fireside, using ancestral know-how.

Eat out at one of the many traditional restaurants and bars both on the mountain, in Le Chinaillon and Le Grand Bornand village.

How do we get to Le Grand Bornand?

Le Grand Bornand is a 1-hour 10min drive by private transfer from Geneva airport
It’s a 50 min drive from Annecy train station, the closest train station in France to Le Grand Bornand.

A shared shuttle transfer from Geneva will take over 4hrs and will only drop you off at the village bus stop, not at your accommodation – not ideal if you are travelling with ski gear and luggage and don’t know your way around.

How long does Le Grand Bornand ski season last?

Next winter, Le Grand Bornand ski resort is scheduled to open from December 19th 2020 to April 18th 2021.

Which other ski resorts are part of the Aravis ski area?

There are 4 ski resorts included on the Aravis lift pass: La Clusaz, Le Grand Bornand, Manigod, St Jean de Sixt. La Clusaz-Manigod and Le Grand Bornand ski area are connected by shuttle buses (ski areas not connected by lifts).

When is the best time to go skiing in Le Grand Bornand?

January 2nd to Feb 6th 2021 is the cheapest and best time to go (low season), followed by 6th March until mid-April 2021 (the shoulder season).

For Australians travelling to France to ski during our January summer holidays, we benefit from the cheaper rates on offer in the French ski resorts’ low season.  This happens to be when the French and Europeans go back to work and school after the 2 week Christmas and New Year holiday period.

Europeans and the Brits flock to the resorts through February into March (DO NOT TRAVEL from 6th Feb to 6th Mar 2021 as this is the French school holidays). The slopes are extremely busy, the queues at the lifts are long and the price for accommodation is very expensive during that time.  Even all the restaurants are booked out!

Typically, in January, the snow is dry with the largest build up. It is also the coldest time, so you will need to make sure that you dress warmly. It is still wise to choose a high-altitude resort in case mother nature has not been kind earlier in the season. Bear in mind though, that snow-making is used to supplement natural snowfall in high traffic areas.

So, not only is January the cheapest time to go skiing in the French Alps, it is also the best time to go thanks to the weather conditions, the lack of queues, more availability and choice of accommodation and you get to breathe fresh air with your loved ones, rather than with thousands of other people!

Le Grand Bornand Accommodation

At an altitude of 1,000 metres, Le Grand Bornand Village is a typical alpine farming village with an outdoor market, central plaza and church. A bit further up the road, at an altitude of 1,300 metres, you’ll find the well-preserved historic village Le Grand Bornand Chinaillon, which is the main ski base area.

Le Roc des Tours
|Le Grand Bornand

1 to 3 Bedroom apartments. Le Roc des Tours. With a unique location next to the slopes, “Le Roc des Tours” favours intimate atmosphere with its 39 apartments with comfort and authenticity that can welcome from 2 to 8 people. For an idyllic stay mixing ski and relaxation, we recommend our heated indoor swimming pool, our wellness centre and fitness room… Guarantee of unforgettable stay with your family !

Residence Le Village de Lessy
|Le Grand Bornand

1 to 3 Bedroom apartments. CGH Residence & Spa Le Village de Lessy. In the heart of the Grand-Bornand Chinaillon, the residence Le Village Lessy welcomes you for your next winter holidays. Enjoy spacious and fully equipped apartments and its wellness centre. It consists of 128 apartments in 9 chalets, welcoming reception, swimming pool with a breathtaking view over the ski area – an extremely comfortable résidence in tune with the village.